Assistive Technology Program

What is the Assistive Technology Program?

ESNB loans assistive technology to people with a disability for assessment purposes and long term loans. The primary goal of the Assistive Technology Program is to provide clients with the opportunity to trial the recommended technology before purchasing.

The technology they use allows clients to communicate with family, friends, and the community at large; it promotes speech, helps the deaf and hard of haring, assists people with a learning disability and clients with neuro-muscular limitations or chronic illness and people with other disabilities. Assistive Technology provides solutions for students in the classroom to learn and clients at work to be able to perform their duties. 

This program, in combination with the New Brunswick Easter Seals’ Assistive Technology Lending Bank, was established to provide trial equipment and evaluation tools, for client assessment purposes, to various education and health-care professionals such as Occupational Therapists, Methods & Resource Teachers, Speech & Language Pathologists, etc. Clients are asked to make a donation to support the program; their ability to make a donation will not affect their access to services. 

The Assistive Technology Program is responsible for purchasing, installing, tracking, maintaining and servicing assistive technology equipment owned by the Department of Education and le Ministère de l’Éducation de Nouveau-Brunswick. This program allows all students with exceptionalities to receive necessary assistive aids and specialized electronics like voice output communication devices, environmental controls, alternative computer access methods, literacy tools and software systems, and will also, upon request, provide consultation services and training support to any school in the province.

To take advantage of this program or for more information please contact Tyrone Guillermo via email or by telephone at: (506) 458-8739.

How it Works

Easter Seals NB offers an Equipment Assessment Loans Bank that gives persons with disabilities a chance to evaluate and/or use rehabilitative devices. All our assessments are supervised by a health professional in the appropriate field of expertise.

  • Arranges short-term loans of equipment for assessment by individual and health professionals
  • Provides a chance to try before you buy equipment

For those disabled persons wishing to access the assistive technology assessment bank, and who do not take part in the public school system here in New Brunswick, may have equipment loaned to them for a period of two months and are asked to pay a nominal fee of thirty-six dollars to help keep the program running as effectively as possible.

For more information Contact Us.


CHANGES TO OUR ASSISTIVE TECHNOLOGY PROGRAM

Easter Seals NB has undergone a review of service delivery.  As a result of this review, we are in the process of making some changes to the Assistive Technology Program. 

All clients wanting to borrow assistive technology from ESNB must complete Part 1 and Part 2 application forms. Once completed, they must be submitted by fax (506-457-2863) or email to the Client Coordinator at: clientcoord@easterseals.nb.ca.

If you need help to determine what type of equipment or program is the most appropriate for your client, you may contact the Assistive Technology Facilitator at at_facilitator@easterseals.nb.ca 

This process will provide fair and equitable access to services for all clients, and ensure ESNB can track equipment that is loaned.

Programme d'assistance technologique

Qu’est-ce que le Programme d'assistance technologique?

TPNB prête des technologies d'assistance aux personnes handicapées à des fins d'évaluation et des prêts à long terme. L'objectif principal du programme de technologie d'assistance est de fournir aux clients la possibilité d'essayer la technologie recommandée avant de l'acheter.

La technologie qu'ils utilisent permet aux clients de communiquer avec leur famille, leurs amis et la communauté en général ; il favorise la parole, aide les sourds et les malentendants, assiste les personnes ayant un trouble d'apprentissage et les clients ayant des limitations neuromusculaires ou des maladies chroniques et les personnes ayant d'autres handicaps. La technologie d'assistance fournit des solutions aux étudiants en classe pour apprendre et aux clients au travail pour qu'ils puissent s'acquitter de leurs tâches.

Le Programme d'assistance technologique, en collaboration avec la Banque de prêts de technologies fonctionnelles de Timbres de Pâques Nouveau-Brunswick, a été conçu pour fournir du matériel d’essai et des outils d’évaluation de client à différents professionnels de l’éducation et de la santé, comme des ergothérapeutes, des orthopédagogues ou des orthophonistes. Les clients sont invités à faire un don pour soutenir le programme; leur capacité de faire un don n'affectera pas leur accès aux services.

Le Programme d'assistance technologique a pour mission d’acheter le matériel de technologie fonctionnelle appartenant aux secteurs anglophone et francophone du ministère de l’Éducation du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l’installer et d’en assurer le suivi et l’entretien. Grâce à ce programme, tous les élèves ayant des besoins spéciaux peuvent obtenir des aides à la réadaptation et des appareils électroniques spécialisés comme des dispositifs de communication à sortie vocale, des systèmes de contrôle de l’environnement, des méthodes alternatives d’accès à l’ordinateur et des outils et logiciels d’alphabétisation. Toutes les écoles de la province peuvent aussi, sur demande, obtenir des conseils et du soutien à la formation.

Pour profiter de ce programme ou pour plus d'informations, veuillez contacter Tyrone Guillermo par courriel (at_facilitator@easterseals.nb.ca) ou par téléphone au : (506) 458-8739.

Son fonctionnement

Timbres de Pâques N.-B. offre aussi une banque de prêt d'équipement d'évaluation qui permet d'utiliser et d'évaluer les appareils de réadaptation. Toutes nos évaluations sont supervisées par un professionnel de la santé compétent dans le domaine.

  • Coordonne les prêts à court terme d'équipement pour leur évaluation par des particuliers et des professionnels de santé
  • Permet d'essayer les appareils avant de les acheter

Les personnes handicapées qui veulent avoir accès à la Banque de prêts d’équipement d’évaluation et qui ne fréquentent pas le système d’éducation public du Nouveau Brunswick peuvent emprunter du matériel pour une période de deux mois pour aussi peu que 36 $, somme qui assure le fonctionnement efficace du programme.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce programme, veuillez nous contacter.


CHANGEMENTS A NOTRE PROGRAMME D'ASSISTANCE TECHNOLOGIQUE

Timbres de Pâques N.-B. a fait l'objet d'un examen de la prestation des services. Suite à cette analyse, nous sommes en processus de faire quelques changements à notre programme d’Assistance Technologique.

Tous les clients qui souhaitent emprunter une technologie d'assistance à ESNB doivent remplir les formulaires de demande des parties 1 et partie 2. Une fois complété, ils peuvent être soumis par télécopieur (506) 457-2863 ou par courriel à la Coordinatrice à la clientele à : clientcoord@easterseals.nb.ca.

Si vous avez besoin d’aide à determiner quel type d’équipement ou programme est le mieux approprié pour votre client, vous pouvez contacter le Coordinateur d’Assistance Tenologique à at_facilitator@easterseals.nb.ca.

Pour profiter de ce programme ou pour plus d'informations, veuillez contacter Tyrone Guillermo par courriel ou par téléphone au : (506) 458-8739.

Ce processus fournira un accès favorable et equitable aux services pour tous les clients, et s’assurer que TPNB puisse suivre l’équipement qui est prêté.